Making Time for Beef-Dips and Beach Trips

images-14

I am so excited tonight.  I am also exhausted.  Lately I am finding that weekends are busier than weekdays.  I was sitting at the hockey arena the other morning, and a Mama walked by with her tiny baby strapped to her chest.  As we admired how cute she looked, and how peaceful both Mama and baby seemed, my friend and I started talking about how calm the “baby years” were compared to life with older kids.  I could barely believe it was coming out of my mouth.  I remember people saying things to me like “cherish this time, because it only gets busier”.  I refused to accept it.  I thought, that’s crazy…I’ll get sleep again, I won’t have to change diapers, or put three kids in and out of car seats a million times a day.

But they were right.  It does get busier.  It’s a different busy. It’s homework and street-hockey, practices and volunteering.  The boxes on my calendar are crammed and the cargo area in our truck has run out of space.

It’s an increasingly busy and full life…. And the busy-ness is driving our family a little mad right now, and it’s only October.

So, a few days ago, I thought to myself “beep” this.  Let’s go to the beach!

I couldn’t even remember the last time I had walked on the beach, and we live ten minutes away.  So, we went to the beach for a walk. Incidentally, the dog ate a rotten fish and then proceeded to barf it up all over my lap and the driver’s seat of our van on the way home.  Obviously, this created a whole bunch more of  “busy” (and “super gross”) work for me that only added to the madness of our regular week.  I was going to write about this experience, but I may have to wait a while, because it’s still very “raw”…and not funny yet. At all.

Anyway, my husband and I keep promising  our kids that we are going to go fishing, hiking, or to our favourite diner for beef dips and milkshakes.  But it never happens.  We are too busy grocery shopping, or at hockey practice, fixing stuff, or doing yard work and homework (or shop-vac-ing the van).

Life just lures us away from the fun stuff.

That’s why I’m excited tonight.  Because I am FINALLY making good on a promise.  One of the twins has been BEGGING me to take him for horse lessons, and I am finally taking him this week.  He doesn’t know yet. We are going to surprise him!  I am SO excited.

And the best is that he deserves a reward like this.  He is a fantastic little boy, who just goes with the flow no matter how crazy our house gets.  When my other two are fighting me, or fighting each other, this fella consistently rises above the mess.  He has a heart of gold, and a wonderful spirit.

He is my daily encouragement that my husband and I might be getting something right.  He is my hugger.  My smiler.  My softy.

And he LOVES horses…

It’s going to be great!  This is the stuff that feeds my heart.

This is the fun stuff.

Who knows, maybe next week we’ll get to the diner for beef-dips and shakes after all…

images-16

Silly Mama is loving the Silly Souls “Good to the Bone” Bodysuit for little Halloweenies! Check it out at http://www.sillysouls.com/

Leave a Reply

